Bits and Bobs

If it seems like I’ve been quiet here lately, it’s only because I’ve been too busy being violently ill elsewhere. These kinds of things happen when you’re surrounded by public-schooled children.

On the other hand, I may have picked it up from someone other than my charges on the weekend. A friend of mine had a birthday party and decided we should all go play laser tag for it, all ten of us adults. We filed into that flashing, disorienting waiting room swearing that we would show Timmy’s birthday party no mercy, and it was just as well, because those seven year olds swarm at you like Day Z zombies.

We lost to a full team of under-tens on the second round, but I maintain that it was because they had five more players than us.

And on Sunday, I visited Philadelphia for the first time, to play a game called “Escape the Room.”

img_20170129_134250410

Philadelphia sure is a pretty place. Here’s a picture of the buildings while I was stuck in traffic…

img_20170129_175850680

And here I was stuck in traffic again…

Escape the Room is where you pay to be locked into a room and have to use your (probably non-existent) puzzle-solving skills to escape. While we were working on ours, called “The Dig”, we heard the people in the one across the way (“The Office”) run out of time and subsequently fail. You only have an hour to complete the room and find the key that releases you, and even with the generous hints the game-masters give you, it’s hard.

And fun. I highly recommend it.

I have no pictures of this because they didn’t want us to spoil it for anyone, but I’m really not that kind of person. The blueprints have to be aligned by the light blue shapes in the middle.

It was the next day that I got horrifically ill, so I could have picked it up while laser tagging or room escaping or merely nannying the night away. But now that I’m recovered and on tangent after tangent, let me tell you about the cookie you absolutely must buy:

img_20170201_112533620

It says “Lotus” on the top, but don’t let that fool you.

These rectangular, gingerbread-colored cookies are Biscoff cookies, which I had not heard of up until now. They might be bigger in Europe, I’m not sure. Regardless, Alaska Airlines served them on the last flight I took with them, in a display of marketing genius, and I was so hooked that I used my previously purchased in-flight wi-fi to order three boxes of them right away.

They’re like… graham crackers in cookie form, perhaps. Very difficult to describe. But they taste incredible with tea. Or coffee. Or water. Or on their own. And, as cookies go, they’re not too calorie-dense. Not that I’ve really looked at the back of the packaging.

So I’ve been up to a whole lot of nothing worth blogging about. On that note, here is a picture of the grocery store ivy I purchased a few months ago:

img_20170201_111948987_hdr

I’m sure at some point it must have crossed my mind that ivy would grow, but ow that it’s actually outgrowing the pot and the windowsill I’m not sure what to do with it. It’s not my house, so I can’t plant it outside, but I don’t want to just dump the thing.

Life can be hard at times, especially when you’re a plant in my terrible care.

4 thoughts on “Bits and Bobs

Leave a Reply

