It’s Been a Thursday

The most frustrating thing about being a nanny is how little I can really change. I see patterns of behavior that careen past disrespect and rub shoulders with bullying in the older boys, but any progress I make is instantly gone when I’m off for the day.

The most I can do is consistently enforce the rules. These rules are:

  • Don’t hit people.
  • Talk to people with respect and not that weird sullen snippy muttering you do all the time, yes, I can still hear you calling your brother an idiot and that’s not okay, I mean it.

Or, if Mr. and Mrs. Parent are home, these rules are:

  • No rules, but we’ll tell them to stop but not actually do anything about it because we don’t want the children to feel bad about themselves. Yes we do, it’s bad behavior.

I don’t know if you can tell, but I’ve had a stressful day. I have seen the future, and it is loud, crude, and violent.

And when I’ve had a stressful day, I like to light a candle or two to create a more peaceful atmosphere in my living space.

img_20161208_204441444

This isn’t working.

2 thoughts on “It’s Been a Thursday

Leave a Reply

